Open calls for nominations of INFORMS prizes and awards

We draw your attention to various INFORMS prizes open for nominations. See also <u>INFORMS Prizes - INFORMS</u> for more prizes with open calls.

Donald P. Gaver, Jr. Early Career Award

The purpose of the award is to support creative and diverse work in operations research in the early career of the recipient. The candidate must be within ten years of receiving a PhD and be in a tenure track academic appointment.

2024 submission deadline: 8 July, 2024

Frederick W. Lanchester Prize

The 2024 Frederick W. Lanchester Prize, for the best contribution to operations research and the management sciences published in English in the past five years; for a group of publications, at least one publication of the group must have been published during that same five-year period.

2024 submission deadline: 15 June 2024

George B. Dantzig Dissertation Award

The 2024 George B. Dantzig Dissertation Award, for the best dissertation in any area of operations research and the management sciences that is innovative and relevant to practice. This award has been established to encourage academic research that combines theory and practice and stimulates greater interaction between doctoral students (and their advisors) and the world of practice. The award is given at the INFORMS Annual Meeting.

2024 submission deadline: 30 June 2024

George Nicholson Student Paper Competition

The 2024 George Nicholson Student Paper Competition, to identify and honor outstanding papers in the field of operations research and the management sciences written by a student.

2024 submission deadline: 2 June 2024

INFORMS Case Competition

The annual case competition is intended to encourage the creation, dissemination, and classroom use of novel teaching cases in operations research, management science and analytics. While the Case Competition Award Committee desires to promote creation of new and innovative cases, it recognizes that the dissemination of such cases cannot always wait for the timing of this award, and thus recognizes novel submissions for this award as those that have been first published within 12 months of the competition award deadline.

2024 submission deadline: 31 July, 2024

Nomination and application for the 2024 INFORMS Optimization Society Prizes is open.

A further 5 prizes by the INFORMS optimization society are now open for nominations. Please send your nomination/application to the selection committee chairs (listed below). The due date for nomination for all IOS prizes is **July 10, 2024, 11:59 PM ET**.

For eligibility and further information for the Optimization Society Prizes, please visit: Awards - Optimization Society (informs.org)

- 1. The Khachiyan Prize, for outstanding lifetime contributions to the field of optimization by an individual or team;
- 2. The Farkas Prize, for outstanding contributions by a mid-career researcher to the field of optimization, over the course of their career;
- 3. The Egon Balas Prize, awarded annually to an individual for a body of contributions in the area of optimization;
- 4. The Prize for Young Researchers, awarded to one or more young researcher(s) for an outstanding paper in optimization that is submitted to and accepted, or published in a refereed professional journal;
- 5. The Student Paper Prize, awarded to one or more student(s) for an outstanding paper in optimization that is submitted to and received or published in a refereed professional journal within three calendar years preceding the year of the award.

Prize committees:

- 1. IOS 2024 Khachiyan Prize Committee: Gerard Cornuejols, Ignacio Grossmann, Renato Monterio, Suvrajeet Sen (chair, suvrajee@usc.edu)
- 2. IOS 2024 Farkas Prize Committee: Garud Iyengar, Jon Lee (chair, <u>jonxlee@umich.edu</u>), Katya Scheinberg, Volker Kaibel
- 3. IOS 2024 Egon Balas Prize Committee: Amitabh Basu, Hande Benson, Jim Luedtke (chair, jim.luedtke@wisc.edu), John Mitchell, Ted Ralphs
- 4. IOS 2024 Young Researchers Prize Committee: Merve Bodur, Sanjeeb Dash, Shiqian Ma, Andy Sun (chair, sunx@mit.edu)
- 5. IOS 2024 Student Paper Prize Committee: Necdet Serhat Aybat, Albert Berahas, Georgina Hall, Robert Hildebrand (chair, rhil@vt.edu), Aida Khajavirad, Weijun Xie

If you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to send your questions to the committee chairs. Look forward to seeing your nomination/application.